Current Loves

My photo
My beyond handsome husband, My hilarious, sweet little boy, Stripes, Anything mint or peach

Followers

Powered by Blogger.

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

39 Days

There isn't really a true purpose to this post other than I cannot hold in my excitement! I am due in 39 days! That's practically 30 which is practically 20 which is practically almost here! AND it is November next month! Holy moly. I am so so so excited I can't even tell you.

I remember when I had well over 100 days left and it felt like forever until he was here. It still feels like forever but it's a little bit smaller of a forever. I wake up every morning and see his little bassinet and can't wait until he's in there. Please go faster time, Please!

Thursday, September 1, 2011

Baby on the Brain

Ever since I found out I was pregnant my head has been spinning with trillions of creative baby ideas. I constantly want to make things and be creative. Although battling a cold and growing another human being can get a little strenuous at times I've tried to be as creative as possible and let my ideas flow. I just want to do so many things that it seems I never have the time for. But! I have managed to get a couple of my ideas to come to life.

While spending hours and hours looking at baby stuff I noticed that I'm really not a fan of the baby mobiles that you can buy these days. They're all either hilariously themed (although cartoon animals and jungle scenes are cute at first, they really get on my nerves after awhile) or are insanely unattractive and just do not fit in with what I see in my head as a cute modern baby mobile. I have looked everywhere I could think of and have not found one that I like. Actually not true, I did find a couple that cost more than you want to know. I decided I would make one! I had an idea in my head and wasn't quite sure how I would execute it but I thought I would give it a try and I think it turned out pretty cute. 




I really like the colours and I'm quite happy with it. First thing my mom said when I showed it to her was "But it doesn't make sound or move at all..." Well if the baby really has a problem with that then I guess I will spin it and Mark can sing.

I've also relearned how to crochet! I quite like it and I have no idea what I'm making but its coming along (whatever it is). I also painted the first letter of his name. I would show you it but then his name might not be a surprise anymore... Although if you've talked to my mom AT ALL in the last 3 months I'm sure she's told you what his name is already. Grandmas these days.

Tuesday, August 2, 2011

Baby Remington

So Thursday was the long awaited ultrasound! I was nervous as heck and insanely uncomfortable. They insist you have a ridiculously painfully full bladder or it won't work, or something like that. So after I waited in the waiting room and tried not to hyperventilate because I was so nervous we finally went in to the little dark room where we saw our baby! The tech was really sweet and nice which was something I was also really nervous about. All the week before I was reading about what to expect and these awful horror stories of technicians that had to be spawn of the devil. And about how some women's bladders weren't full enough so they had to sit and wait for hours. I read about this one lady that went in for an ultrasound and the tech was so mean to her and made her cry and wouldn't let her see the screen and when she asked if she could know the sex of the baby the tech just said I know but I'm not going to tell you and kept saying things like "Oh that doesn't look good" and when the lady asked her what she was talking about the tech just said "You'll have to speak to your doctor about it". That was my worst fear! (Besides not seeing a healthy baby) and I read tons of stories about gender shy babies who would not for the life of them let the tech or the parents see what they were packing. Oh man am I glad that all of these things were the exact opposite of our experience!

She was really sweet and showed us what we were looking at and explained as she went along which is fantastic because as far as I was concerned we were looking at a weird moving black and grey mass. Thank goodness for her pointing things out. We got pictures and saw the little hands that were making a peace sign and my baby has a great looking spine if I do say so myself. All and all we are so excited and happy that we have a beautiful healthy baby which is exactly what we were wishing for. I cannot wait until this baby is here, I'm counting down the days and trying to remember through the pain of squished lungs and swollen ankles how happy I am going to be when it finally gets here!

Oh yeah..... It's a BOY!

Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Excitement overload

It was my plan to hold off on another post until my ultrasound tomorrow (Holy! it's tomorrow! that's super soon, but still not soon enough) but I am way too excited and Mark is at work and I'm home by myself and I can't express my excitement to anyone else (I've tried telling my baby how excited I am about it but it doesn't answer back so it's not the same) (Also I hate calling my baby an it, but after tomorrow I won't have to!) so I've resorted to blogging about it.

 All day at work today I couldn't think about anything else. I just want to know what this baby is already and which name I can finally call it, I catch myself calling it our girl name but then I feel bad just incase it's a boy and I don't want to give it a complex already so I call it our boy name right after. Dang, I'm going to give this baby low self esteem by accident and its not even born yet! Anyway, yesterday someone who didn't already know asked me if I was pregnant yesterday for the first time (a little old lady). She said "Are you what I think you are?" I thought that was pretty cute. 

Im seriously so excited. I don't think I'll be able to sleep tonight (as if thats different from any other night, its hard to sleep with a baby on your organs and constantly harassing your insides). After we find out we're going to go to Mark's families house in Cardston for the weekend and do fun Cardstony things. I don't really know what this entails but I'll find out I guess. Then Sunday my family is going to come down to Cardston and we'll have a BBQ. That's also pretty cute, and I'm really excited for it. I'm kinda glad that our hours are limited in Lethbridge before we go out to Cardston because I don't think I could keep my mouth shut about the results and I would tell my mom and my sister right away.

Just watch, since I'm so excited about this our baby is going to be a brat and we won't even find out what the gender it is. Well here's to hoping. I will be back Monday with the news (if theres any).

Monday, July 18, 2011

Life

Oh life. You never cease to amaze and surprise me. Just when I think that you will slow down a little bit or give me a little bit of normalcy you decide to keep me on my toes and throw me a curve ball.
Well played life, well played. I must say though, I'm quite excited about this particular curve ball. In 4 short months we will have a teeny tiny little Remington to call our own. I cannot wait. I bet you thought you would trip me up with this one huh? I have to admit, I thought at first you would win since this was so unexpected but I could not have asked for a better twist. I've read a trillion baby books and continue to take my football sized vitamins and am incredibly hungry one minute and shockingly queazy the next. But I love, love, love it. I will take this challenge and run with it. Thank you life, balls in your court now, I do believe I've won this one. Check and mate.

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

People Can Change Lives

I really wish that I had started a blog when I was in YSA. Everyday was a new story and every Sunday was seriously amazing. I had amazing people to go through YSA with. It's really kinda odd how all of our personalities fit together so well even though we were all pretty different... but sorta the same. I know that doesn't make much sense. There was a ton of people that were involved with my awkward YSA days but there was a couple main ones that I've been missing lately and I feel it would be selfish to keep their amazingness all bottled up and to myself so I think I'm going to talk about them. Im going to go in alphabetical order for no particular reason other than organizational purposes.

Brooke: Just some background quick, our dads have been friends since they were in primary yet I don't actually remember talking to or even meeting Brooke until I moved to this windy city in 2006. I don't remember exactly when we became friends but I do remember Brooke being one of the funniest parts of YSA. Seriously everything that comes out of this girls mouth is pure comedy gold. She's easily one of the funniest people I've ever met and I don't think she even tries to be funny. She's just a natural. I think a lot of the good parts of our scheming and planning came out of Brooke's head. Brooke can get real crazy, in a good way. She's fantastic on caffeine and if you ever get the chance to dose her with a little energy juice, I highly suggest you take that opportunity. It's amazing. Let me just get this out of the way now, Brooke, boys are retarded (most boys) but somewhere, your not retarded boy is out there, closer than you think and when you find him (which will be sooner rather than later) hold on to him tight and never let him go. I know it feels like you've been waiting for a long time but I promise he will be worth the wait so just keep being amazing and he'll find you and when that day comes I better get invited to your wedding. Also, she has good style. Double also, if it wasn't for Brooke's great outgoing, friendly personality I wouldn't have met Mark, in which I shall forever be indebted to her. I really miss hanging out with her. It was always guaranteed a good time if Brooke was around.

Now, there are going to be two Katie's on this list and I don't think I'm going to specify which is which. If you ever have the privilege of knowing them then you will know who I'm talking about.

Katie: Katie is the most fabulous person I've ever met. I'm so very glad that I met someone with the same deep appreciation in great shoes and big hair that I do. Also, she's a dancer so it's almost embarrassing to go to dances with her because you know she'll make you look a fool since she's so dang good. She's got some sass in her so don't piss her off either. She's so much fun to be around it's ridiculous. She puts the "K" in KEster juice. No literally, she's the K. That beautiful concoction could not have come to pass without her. I love Katie. She's just fabulous. And the same boy stuff I said to about Brooke also applies to Katie. She's had to put up with some horrible boys thanks to us. Cough. Alex. Cough. But she's always a great sport about it and even though we force her to do things sometimes I'm so glad that she doesn't hate us at the end of the day ( at least I don't think she does...) she is going to make the most fabulous bride and also Katie, I'm holding you too that animal print wedding you thought of. It will happen. You rock don't ever change. ( A little Lizzie Macguire for you, I don't know if you ever watched that.)

Katie: Now this Katie, this Katie is something else. She says the most funny, inappropriate things and I love it. Seriously, if you ever need a dirty mind or an ace things in a box player, Katie is your women. She is a genius with computers and animation and shes just a generally nice, sweet person. I can remember having many heart to hearts with her in her car after FHE or going for a walk and just talking. I could talk to Katie for hours. She's a fantastic person and an even better friend and the only person who can make sweatpants look good. I love Katie and I really really miss hanging out with her and just talking to her about everything and nothing all at the same time. I seriously could not say one bad thing about her. She's simply amazing and that's all there is too it.

There are a ton more people that I could right about and maybe I will in due time but for now this is it. I love these people and if you ever get the chance to meet them or simply be in their presence you should consider yourself lucky.

Monday, February 28, 2011

15,897,600 Seconds


I once heard that the most extraordinary things have the most ordinary beginnings. I believe this is very true. Today I have been married for 15,897,600 seconds. That is exactly 184 days, which is 6 months, which is already half a year. I cannot begin to explain how happy that makes me and how I have loved every minute of it.
It seems like you are constantly looking for that one person. Ever since you were little you've heard love stories and tales of people finding that one person that they would be with forever. Then you get older and it's constantly in the back of your mind, wondering who that one person will be for you. When I was around dating age I thought about it quite a bit and I was convinced that I would never get married, not that I didn't want to, just that it wasnt in the cards for me. You spend your entire life looking for that one person and then all of a sudden they're right there and you feel like they've always been there. You start to like everything about them and then you fall in love with their smile, and thier sence of humor and the way they close their eyes when they try to recall certain parts of a story and pretty soon you realise that not only are you in love with everything about them, youre in love with them and before you know it you're inceperable and you never want to be apart and then you get married and you relise that it is the best desision of your life and you cant help but smile because you get to wake up to the most beautiful face in the world every morning. It makes you wonder how you ever survived without them before. And then you wake up one morning and you remember that you've been married for half a year already and you just hope that you have so many more years with that person and that time slows down just a little bit so you can enjoy every single second that much more.

Saturday, January 1, 2011

Red and GREEN

I feel like I haven't written a new blog entry in forever and I feel like I should apologize but I don't know who I would be apologizing too because who am I kidding, no one reads this dang thing. But none the less I must write about the most beautiful thing in the world that I just happened to get for Christmas. 

I got.... A Kitchen Aid! Ya! Ever since I was little, I've wanted one. Just kidding I think I was only like 16 when I started wanting one. But that's still kind of a long time... almost 4 years. Any who, I got one! Not only did I get one but I got an apple green one! It is the most gorgeous thing. 


I was deceived into thinking that I wouldn't get one. For weeks Mark told me that I wouldn't be able to get one because the ones in the stores weren't the right colour (his words not mine. I would have been happy with any colour) and to order one would take way too long and it wouldn't be here by Christmas. So I accepted that and moved on. Little did I know that he had already ordered it at that point. He's pretty sneaky. He also got me the most beautiful necklace with a Canadian diamond in it and although I absolutely love it I cannot make delicious things with it. But I will wear it while I make those delicious things. I absolutely love love love this mixer. It works like a dream.

Maybe I should get out more if I'm this excited about an electric mixer. I don't know if I should be worried or not. But until then, I will be in the kitchen if you need me.