So Thursday was the long awaited ultrasound! I was nervous as heck and insanely uncomfortable. They insist you have a ridiculously painfully full bladder or it won't work, or something like that. So after I waited in the waiting room and tried not to hyperventilate because I was so nervous we finally went in to the little dark room where we saw our baby! The tech was really sweet and nice which was something I was also really nervous about. All the week before I was reading about what to expect and these awful horror stories of technicians that had to be spawn of the devil. And about how some women's bladders weren't full enough so they had to sit and wait for hours. I read about this one lady that went in for an ultrasound and the tech was so mean to her and made her cry and wouldn't let her see the screen and when she asked if she could know the sex of the baby the tech just said I know but I'm not going to tell you and kept saying things like "Oh that doesn't look good" and when the lady asked her what she was talking about the tech just said "You'll have to speak to your doctor about it". That was my worst fear! (Besides not seeing a healthy baby) and I read tons of stories about gender shy babies who would not for the life of them let the tech or the parents see what they were packing. Oh man am I glad that all of these things were the exact opposite of our experience!
She was really sweet and showed us what we were looking at and explained as she went along which is fantastic because as far as I was concerned we were looking at a weird moving black and grey mass. Thank goodness for her pointing things out. We got pictures and saw the little hands that were making a peace sign and my baby has a great looking spine if I do say so myself. All and all we are so excited and happy that we have a beautiful healthy baby which is exactly what we were wishing for. I cannot wait until this baby is here, I'm counting down the days and trying to remember through the pain of squished lungs and swollen ankles how happy I am going to be when it finally gets here!
Oh yeah..... It's a BOY!
Tuesday, August 2, 2011
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
